December 24, 2008 at 7:30 pm (Uncategorized)

Merry Christmas, one and all!

I’ve spent the last few days travelling around Kyushu, and I don’t have a great deal of time, so – who wants to see some wacky Tokyo Christmas lights?

Of course you all do!

I’ll briefly explain about Doctor Nakamatsu’s House. (This is not a translation – the name of Doctor Nakamatsu’s House in Japanese is Dokutoa Nakamatsu’s Haos. Why is beyond me, as no Westerner that I’ve met has heard of him.) Doctor Nakamatsu is something of a local celebrity in Setagaya – he’s our resident genius inventor, and every year those who live in the area drive past his house to see his Christmas lights.

Yeah. His house. As in, the house that he lives in.

I do not have a car. Luckily, it’s only about fifteen minutes’ walk away.

I took a lot more photos than this, but this connection is very slow and I have to be downstairs in – oh – one minute. So here are some of my favourites. (Please note that while I was out there, Doctor Nakamatsu himself came out to admire his handiwork. He was very nice about the strange gaijin girl hanging around his house at 10PM, taking photos.)

Here they are! (Remember: PEOPLE LIVE IN THIS HOUSE.)

Merry Christmas!

5 Comments

  1. Claudia said,

    And I thought the folks on Pumping Station Road were bonkers… How do these people sleep at night? Srsly, that house must be like daylight the whole time!

    (Also, what does Mickey Mouse have to do with Christmas?)

  2. gaijinrei said,

    I’m honestly not sure – I have asked myself much the same question, and been able to find no satisfactory answer.

    (Is it just me, or do those Disney characters look…vaguely…homicidal?))

  3. Claudia said,

    Brains! What’s the one next to Mickey supposed to be, is it Stitch?

  4. Christopher said,

    Hello there.
    I am using this as an alternative sms area so forgive me
    HOW ARE YOU?????????????????
    Thanks for the text hope u dont mind that i texted u…
    nice fotos…
    good to see your doing well
    hugs
    chris

  5. gaijinrei said,

    I most certainly do not mind that you texted me – was a nice moment in an otherwise pretty depressing Christmas =) I am well but pretty shattered. I’ve been travelling and….travelling…for the past week, and I’m at the stage where I’m tired enough that it would take a day or so of Doing Nothing to rest me up, and it’s sort of a day I don’t really have to spare. Hopefully Misa-san will let me take a day off when I get back to Tokyo.

    Hope you had good Christmas x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

